2013 Youth Media Award Winners Announced Today

The American Library Association’s 2013 Youth Media Awards were announced this morning from Seattle, including recipients of the distinguished Newbery, Caldecott and Coretta Scott King book awards, among other honors.

This year’s winners include The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate (Newbery Medal), This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen (Caldecott Medal), and Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America by Andrea David Pinkney (King Author Award). Here’s the complete list.

Each year, the ALA honors books, videos and other materials intended for children and teen readers and viewers. The awards “guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth,” according to the ALA website.

“The awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.”

If you’d like to see the hour-long event, check out the ALA Youth Media Awards archived webcast.

For background details on each award, click here.

2 thoughts on “2013 Youth Media Award Winners Announced Today

  1. Thanks for alerting me to this year’s Youth Media Award winners.
    I’ll use the list to pick gift books for our nephews and nieces. (And maybe even pick up copies for myself!)

    • Hi Rita,

      That’s a great idea!

      I use the Man Booker and Man Asian lists to drive my own reading, and choosing books from among the Youth Media winners sounds like the perfect way to find great reads for my godkids and the children of friends. These awards are a comforting guarantee of quality, too.

Comments are closed.