2013 Youth Media Award Winners Announced Today

The American Library Association’s 2013 Youth Media Awards were announced this morning from Seattle, including recipients of the distinguished Newbery, Caldecott and Coretta Scott King book awards, among other honors.

This year’s winners include The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate (Newbery Medal), This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen (Caldecott Medal), and Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America by Andrea David Pinkney (King Author Award). Here’s the complete list.

Each year, the ALA honors books, videos and other materials intended for children and teen readers and viewers. The awards “guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth,” according to the ALA website.

“The awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.”

If you’d like to see the hour-long event, check out the ALA Youth Media Awards archived webcast.

For background details on each award, click here.